Why I’m an Atheist – Intro

atheist-article-1.jpg

It has been a long religious journey for me, beginning around the age of ten when my family first took me to church. I was baptised when I was fourteen, catechized, and later majored in Pastoral Ministry at Mt. Vernon Nazarene University. Thats around fifteen years of religious training, praying, mission trips, sermons, and endless rounds of praise chorus’. I know my stuff.

Over the last three years though there has been a nagging suspicion that God wasn’t all he was cracked up to be, and today I’m officially declaring myself an Atheist. Losing my faith so to speak, was a slow process of disappointments and the accumulation of scientific and theological knowledge. I’m not really fond of the term Atheist though, because it only describes what I’m not. I’m not a Theist. I don’t believe in a god. I prefer the term Rationalist or Secular Humanist to Atheist, because both terms describe what I am: committed to reason, science, and the belief in the beauty and sacredness of the lives of human beings. I’ve come to the conclusion that the proof for an all powerful God is lacking, especially a God who ‘loves and wants to have a personal relationship with me and others’.

The reasons I don’t believe are numerous so I’m planning on discussing each of the reasons in depth in different posts. In these updates, I’ll mostly be discussing this as arguments against Christianity, only because its the religion I am most familiar with. Sorry if you guys from other religions feel left out.

I think you should also know that I’m a really happy person, much happier than I was as a Christian. Because I’m criticizing something though, these posts are probably going to sound pretty negative. I apologize for that in advance but hope you’ll keep reading.

I also hope these posts can in some way raise your consciousness about the subject or at least let you know why I believe what I believe. Feel free to disagree with me, or argue a point I make. I’m open to hearing you’re opinion too. I won’t lash out or say you’re stupid for believing in god, I think its an important part of many peoples lives. But these are the reasons I cannot believe.

Leave a Reply

