Obama Fact Check #1: Obama Isn’t A Muslim

There’s a lot of misinformation going around about Barack Obama.  He has been the victim of a campaign by right wing blogs and media outlets like Fox News to characterize him as Un-American or even a Muslim sent to undermine the government of the United States.  As ridiculous as this sounds I’ve heard it repeated in several conversations at my work place.  People say things like, “I could never vote for him.  He’s a Muslim.”  Or “I heard he refused to put his hand over his heart during the pledge of allegiance, how can he expect to lead the country if he won’t honor the pledge”.  Where these news outlets get these ridiculous stories I’ll never know, but here’s Fact Check Number One: Obama isn’t a Muslim.  He’s a devout Christian.  Here’s a story from CNN:

PLEASANTVILLE, Iowa (CNN) -– Democratic presidential candidate Barack Obama was asked about his “Muslim background” by a potential voter at a coffee shop Saturday, and used the encounter as an opportunity to try to put to rest stories that he said had been “misreported.”

Obama joined a group of four women in a booth to eat some pumpkin pie and sip a cup of tea. One of the women asked him how his “Muslim background” would affect his decisions as president.

“This is something that keeps on being misreported, so I’m glad you asked me,” Obama, who is Christian, said.

He told them his father had lived in a Muslim-dominated village in Kenya, but “didn’t practice Islam.”

“Truth is, he wasn’t very religious,” said Obama. “He met my mother. My mother was a Christian from Kansas, and they married, and then divorced. I was raised by my mother. So I’ve always been a Christian.”

He also touched on the fact that he lived in the Muslim country of Indonesia for four years of his childhood.

“I didn’t practice [Islam],” Obama continued, but added that being in that area had given him “insight into how these folks think.”

Just before being pulled away from the table by a staffer, Obama told the women he had been a member of the Trinity United Church of Christ for the past 15 years.

Even if he was a Muslim I personally wouldn’t have any problem with it.  He’s a man of integrity no matter what his faith is.  But he is a Christian.  Make sure you don’t believe everything you hear on Fox News.

4 Responses

  1. I have read several articles but the best favor you can do yourself is go to his church’s website, read the creeds, then ask yourself whether a person of any race or religion should be our president with that rhetoric. There’s a post on my blog, “Obamination”, (wrtten by another biracial man, if it matters)that will give you a great headstart! There’s no way I would vote for anyone so slippery and why people are not checking him out is beyond me, especially after the big deal about the Ron Paul donor. Obama is very deceptive and evasive.
    Merry Christmas and God Bless You!

  2. Hey thanks for commenting on my blog! You’re the first one! His church was another thing I was going to get to in my Obama fact checker series so thanks for bringing it up. I guessing you probably heard about it on the Sean Hannity show right? I can see by your blog that faith is something you take seriously, which I think can be a good thing. However there should be no religious litmus test for the President of the United States. I’m sorry if you disagree with some of the churches teachings, its your right to do so, but I don’t think Obama has anything to be ashamed of. Barack worked with the poorest of the poor inner city African Americans when he started going to that church. Is there anything wrong with those people having an identity as a black community? So what if the churches creeds are Afro-centric? I know from experience that most American churches in the suburbs are white-centric, they just don’t put the word white on their website because they’re the majority in this country, not an ethnic group that was beaten down by slavery and racial oppression for hundreds of years. Open your mind and heart. Listen to what Obama is saying, not what people are saying about him. Hope that helps.
    And hope you have a good Christmas too!

  3. Why is he hiding or ashamed of using is full name Barack Hussein Obama????
    If he is not a muslim he should be upfront with the country and use his not and not hide it.

  4. I’ve never heard that he’s ashamed of his middle name. Everyone knows its Hussein. Like the article says his dad was a non-religious Kenyan. Just because his dad named him Hussein, it doesn’t make him a Muslim. Just like someone from Mexico named Jesus or Maria isn’t necessarily a Catholic.
    Obama has been upfront with the country, its the right wing spin doctors who haven’t.

Leave a Reply

